THE PORTRAYAL OF THE FEMALE PROTAGONIST IN DARREN ARONOFSKY’S BLACK SWAN USING FREUD’S PSYCHOANALYTIC THEORY OF PERSONALITY AND DEFENSE MECHANISMS

Main Article Content

Anisa Efani Yulandara Nastiti
Anton Sutandio

Abstract

Black Swan is a psychological horror movie by Darren Aronofsky. This movie tells of a ballerina named Nina Sayers, who desires to be a perfect ballerina. On her way to achieving her desire, Nina experiences psychological problems where she often hallucinates and even hurts herself. It results from Nina’s anxiety that causes her to be afraid that her desire will not be fulfilled. This article aims to examine Nina’s psychological state during the process of achieving her dreams. To reveal the psychological issues experienced by Nina, a characteristic analysis was carried out using Sigmund Freud’s theory of psychoanalysis, the theory of human defense mechanisms, and the cinematographic aspects of this film. The results showed that uncontrolled desires could cause psychological disorders that influence a person’s characteristics.

Downloads

Download data is not yet available.

Article Details

Section
Articles
Author Biographies

Anisa Efani Yulandara Nastiti, Maranatha Christian University

A fresh graduate from the Bachelor Programme in English, Faculty of Languages and Cultures, Maranatha Christian University

Anton Sutandio, (Google Scholar : H-INDEX 1); Faculty of Languages and Cultures Maranatha Christian University, Bandung

Full-time associate professor at the Bachelor Programme in English, Faculty of Languages and Cultures, Maranatha Christian University (1998-present)Dean of the Faculty of Languages and Cultures (2016-2024)

References

Aronofsky, D. (2010). Black Swan. Fox Searchlihgt Pictures.

Cherry, K. (2022). What is Displacement in Psychology? Verywellmind. https://www.verywellmind.com/what-is-displacement-in-psychology-4587375

Chris, C. (2021). Mirror Symbolism (10 Meanings) – In Film, Books & Dreams. Symbolism and Metaphors. https://symbolismandmetaphor.com/mirror-symbolism-meanings/#7_Deception

Deguzman, K. (2020). The Handheld Shot in Film -- Definition and Examples. Studio Binder. https://www.studiobinder.com/blog/handheld-shot-in-film-definition-examples

Efthimiou, O. (2012). Becoming the Monstrous-Feminine: Sex, Death and Transcendence in Darren Aronofsky’s Black Swan. Interactive Media Journal, 8. https://researchrepository.murdoch.edu.au/id/eprint/14075/1/IM8-masculine-feminine-article-03-efthimiou.pdf

Heitler, S. (2016). Can You Spot 10 Signs of a Childish Adult? Psychology Today. https://www.psychologytoday.com/us/blog/resolution-not-conflict/201603/can-you-spot-10-signs-childish-adult

Hellerman, J. (2020a). A Genre Examination of Psychological Horror Movies and TV Shows. No Film School. https://nofilmschool.com/psychological-horror-movies-and-tv-shows-genre

Hellerman, J. (2020b). How did the Coens and Sam Raimi Define the Shaky Cam? No Film School. https://nofilmschool.com/the-shaky-cam-coens-sam-raimi

Kurner, T. (2014). Camera as Psychosis: The Cinematography of Black Swan. I Like Things That Look Like Mistakes. https://moviescene.wordpress.com/2014/02/03/camera-as-psychosis-the-cinematography-of-black-swan/

Landwehr, M. J. (2021). Aronofsky’s Black Swan as a Postmodern Fairy Tale: Mirroring a Narcissistic Society. Humanities, 10(86), 1–18. https://doi.org/https://doi.org/10.3390/h10030086

Lofberg, I. (2016). Beginner’s Guide: Psychological Horror. Film Inquiry. https://www.filminquiry.com/beginners-guide-psychological-horror/

Lubsi, A., Ratnadewi, D., & Wijaya, A. (2014). Nina’s Characterization Reflected in the Speech Acts in Black Swan Film. Tell Journal, 2(1), 1–7. https://journal.um-surabaya.ac.id/index.php/Tell/article/view/2166

Lumabi, M. (2021). Cinematography: Understanding Lighting in Film. The Film Post. https://tfphk.com/article/theory/detail/cinematography-understanding-lighting-in-film

MasterClass. (2021). Film 101: What is Cinematography and What does a Cinematographer Do? Master Class. https://www.masterclass.com/articles/film-101-what-is-cinematography-and-what-does-a-cinematographer-do#what-is-cinematography.

Mattle, A. (2023). Portrayals of Mental Illness in Film and the Impact on Viewers, Individuals with Mental Illness, and Mental Health Treatment. https://amattleresearch.digitalscholar.rochester.edu/portrayals-of-mental-illness-in-film-and-the-impact-on-viewers-individuals-with-mental-illness-and-mental-health-treatment/

McLeod, S. (2020). 10 Defense Mechanisms: What are They and How They Help Us Cope. Simply Psychology. https://www.simplypsychology.org/defense-mechanisms.html

N.n. (n.d.). Camera Movements: Everything You Need To Know. Nashville Film Institute. Retrieved March 2, 2023, from https://www.nfi.edu/camera-movements/

N.N. (n.d.). The Power of Colors: Meanings, Symbolism, and Effects on the Mind. PsycholoGenie. Retrieved March 3, 2023, from https://psychologenie.com/the-power-of-colors-their-meanings#:~:text=on the Mind-,Colors can define the mood of a person%2C they can,instance of life on earth.

Oxford University, P. (2023). Immature. In Oxford Learners’ Dictionaries. Oxford University Press. https://www.oxfordlearnersdictionaries.com/

Pascual, M. C. (2016). “It was Perfect": Desire, Corporeality, and Denial in Darren Aronofsky’s Black Swan. Revista de Filología Inglesa, 37. https://zaguan.unizar.es/record/63435?ln=en

Pisters, P. (2016). “I Just Want to be Perfect”: Affective Compulsive Movement in Black Swan. The Cine-Files, 10, 1–15. http://www.thecine-files.com/pisters2016/

Prkachin, K. M. (2009). Assessing Pain by Facial Expression: Facial Expression as Nexus. Pain Research and Management, 14(1), 53–58. https://doi.org/doi: 10.1155/2009/542964

Renee, V. (2019). How to Give Characters Power through Composition. No Film School. https://nofilmschool.com/give-characters-power-through-composition

Ryckman, R. (2007). Theories of Personality (10th ed.). Cengage Learning.

Scrivner, C. (2021). Why Horror Films are More Popular than Ever. Nautilus. https://nautil.us/why-horror-films-are-more-popular-than-ever-238096/

Soselisa, D. K. ., & Djundjung, J. M. (2013). The Rites of Passage of Nina Sayers in Darren Aronofsky’s Black Swan. Kata Kita, 1(1), 39–46. https://doi.org/https://doi.org/10.9744/katakita.1.1.39-46

Varlina, V., Theresia, A., & Vinsensia, A. M. (2021). Analisis Teori Semiotika dan Budaya Visual dalam Poster Film Black Swan. Jurnal Socioperti, 1(2). https://jurnalaperti.id/wp-content/uploads/2021/12/2_Vivi-et-al_Blackswan_rev.pdf

Vinney, C. (2022). What is Regression in Psychology? Verywellmind. https://www.verywellmind.com/what-is-regression-in-psychology-5198737

Wigandt, H. (2020). Here’s what Natalie Portman Went Through for Her Role in “Black Swan.” The Things. https://www.thethings.com/heres-what-natalie-portman-went-through-for-her-role-in-black-swan/